7QT: Summer Screen Time

Although our weather doesn’t quite feel like summer yet (we had 6 inches of snow a week ago), the kids are in full summer mode, which means eating popsicles, staying up late, and trying to have non-stop computer time.

Last summer, we implemented a checklist in order to make sure our days had some redeeming qualities, amidst the hours of screen time.  It worked so well, I’m implementing it again.  This year I’m trying to hold them to the American Association of Pediatrics’ recommendation for no more than 2 hours* of screens per day, although some of us can do an hour just in the bathroom!)

image

So here, without ado, I present the 7 most common complaints in response to our summer screen time plan.

  1. Our friends can have as much computer time as they want! (I doubt this is true. In fact, I know it’s not true. It just feels true.)
  2. Owen’s been practicing for hours and won’t let any of the rest of us practice! (This one is actually true, and it’s why we now have two pianos.)

image

3. I’m doing __________ (swim team/ballet/gymnastics) later, so can that count as my exercise?

 

image

(The answer: not if you want to have computer time before you go.)

4. But there’s nothing to read!

 

IMG_3830

5. But the house is already clean! (Ummm….. no.)

6. There’s nothing to make! (How about breakfast? Or lunch? Or dinner?)

7. But I’m so booooooooooored! (Actually no one uses this one, because when you’re bored at our house, it means you get to clean the bathroom.)

What does summer screen time look like for you?  Are you texting your kids in the bathroom to tell them to slide the iPad out under the door?

Go check out Kelly @ This Ain’t the Lyceum for more Quick Takes!

*update: I had originally write 1 hour (the AAP recommendation for 2-5 years olds.)  My children were so mad about this that actually went and looked up the recommendation for themselves.  It’s two hours per day of any kind of screen, for children older than 5. And no screens in the bedrooms, because they’ve been shown to interfere with sleep.

 

7 thoughts on “7QT: Summer Screen Time

  1. OMG! Bathroom time is soooo funny!!!
    Matthew Kelly actually mentions being bored (or saying that you are!) in “Resisting Happiness”. Definitely look for it. My parish gave out free copies last year, so I grabbed one.
    LOVE your piano. I just moved my mom’s baby grand from their house (both of my parents have passed away) a couple of months ago.
    Thank you so much for visiting!

    Like

    • We had my MIL’s baby grand 15 years ago and then couldn’t move it across the country (nor did we have room for it here.) We found this one on NextDoor and just moved it in a week ago. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Daybook: Mid-June | Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.