Daybook: early August

Out my window: the heat is back.  We had a few days of cooler temps (and even one morning of mist and fog!) but alas, no more.  Remind me of this in February when I’m grousing about being cold.

Aforementioned mist:
image

image

In the kitchen: I’ve been posting on our bounty of summer vegetables and our weekly meal plan, though I skipped our vacation week.  Over the weekend I asked the kids what meals they wanted for the rest of August, and they listed all our winter favorites: pot pie, shepherd’s pie, beef stew… Apparently they’re not down with the summer food program. Sadly, our CSA was hit with a terrible hail storm that killed the bulk of their summer harvest (all the tomatoes and peppers and the rest of the melons and corn)… so it may be back to supermarket produce for us after all, at least for this year.

In the school room: I’ve been organizing.  Momo gave me some great (meaning very specific) feedback about how to improve her French class for this year, and I’m happy about those changes.  The girls are very excited about all our school supplies (who doesn’t love school supplies!), and with the exception of the order of our literature read-alouds, I have our full year planned.  Wahoo!

Grateful for: My goddaughter is completely healed from her bacterial meningitis!  Thanks for all your prayers.  She and her family stopped by over the weekend, and it was so good to see her for myself that she is fully herself.

We have a new nephew, who (according to all photos and eyewitnesses) is the cutest little baby every born.  I can’t wait to meet him.

image

We had a lovely, if short, vacation in the mountains last week. The highlight for me was our hike up Vail Mountain. We did this hike last year and everyone has good memories of it and was game to go again. It’s 5 miles one way (up) and gains 2160 feet. That’s an average grade of 7.9%. When several of our hikers fell weeping and whining to the dirt, crying, “How much longer? We’re neeeeeeevvvvverrrrr going to get there!” I remembered the agony of the second half of the hike. I must have blocked it out. Just like labor.

image

Of course, at the top it was worth it.  Just like labor.

We also were able to spend a day with friends, playing in the (really cold!) river and swimming in the pool.

image

image
On my book table: Jamie Martin’s Give Your Child the World and Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow.  These are the non-fiction titles I was hoping to read this summer, before I got sucked into two new-to-me mystery series.  I think I’m going to run out of time before Monday, especially since I have no willpower when it comes to turning off the Olympics and reading a book.

In my shoes: I’m nursing a sore foot with lots of stretching, yoga and ice.  What I really want to do, though, is run.  I ran 60 miles in July and my foot wasn’t worse, it just wasn’t any better.

Praying for: The Neals and Simons. Mandy, Judy, Caleb, Christine, Tammie, Gerri, and Lori.  Justine and family, adjusting to life as a family of four.  A good start to school and the quick return to good learning habits.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

