7 QT in which I turn forty-four

One: I turned forty-four. It seems old and just right at the same time.

Two: The boys had tickets to a comedy show last Friday, so I invited a friend and her daughter over for Thai food and pedicures as my “party.”
The best part of the whole night were the girls’ giggles as I rubbed their feet with the sugar scrub.
Untitled

Three: Then I spent the rest of the weekend sick in bed.

Four: Oh, wait. I did get out of bed long enough to cut all my hair off. Again. You wouldn’t think that three inches of hair would take me so long to style every morning, but it did. Or rather, looking at it every day and wishing I knew what to do with it was consuming too much of my mental energy. I missed my ponytail. Since I couldn’t grow one back overnight, I had to chop all my hair off.

Five: While in bed, I finished The Good Lord Bird by James McBride.  Fantastic book.

Six: Then I read The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown.  Also wonderful, despite having the word epic in the title.

Seven: Spending the weekend in bed seemed to cure me, most of the way at least.  I took an awesome run on Monday.  Maybe I should spend more time in bed.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

