The little blue sweater

My niece was born a year ago. Several months before she was born, I started knitting her a sweater.  I like to pray when I knit gifts. I prayed for her mom, I prayed for her safe arrival. I prayed for her dad and for her siblings.  I prayed for her character and her future.

IMG_0247

The yoke of the sweater was confusing; several times I frogged it and started over.  As the sweater grew, it became clear that I should have knit it on miniscule needles, because on the 7s I was using, it was not going to fit her any time soon.  The pattern I was using had several omissions… like the length of the sleeves and body.  It just said, “Knit until size desired achieved.”  Well, without a baby on hand to measure, that was all conjecture.  I pulled up my February Baby Sweater pattern to give me some idea of how to proceed.

She arrived safely.  The sweater was nowhere near done.  Having missed the first deadline, I put the sweater away for a while.  Nine months later, I dragged it out again for some road trip knitting.  I finished the knitting but forgot to bring a needle to weave in the ends.

The new deadline was her birthday.  And by the skin of my teeth, I made it. Blocked, ends woven in, button on. Her little sweater went out to her birthday party and just fits.  Phew!

IMG_0245

Happy birthday, sweet girl!  (Don’t think that because I finished knitting for you I am done praying for you. Not by a long shot.)

4 thoughts on “The little blue sweater

  1. Hi Annie, this was a beautiful post the sweater looks adorable on her. sorry i will be a little late getting out birthday presents for you and Sam.
    Life is just crazy. Good thing God is in charge. I love and miss you all..

  2. And I get to sit here and rock this little one whom that sweater hugs (both with room to grow). They’re both masterpieces! Love it, love it, love!! Thank you, sister friend!

  3. Pingback: Daybook: November 2014 | Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

