2014 Aspirations

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions?  Or do a longer set of goals, like 101 in 1001?  Or perhaps you choose a theme word for your year.

I have done both resolutions and the a set of 101 in 1001 goals (twice).  For me, goal setting helps me focus on the end, and then the means don’t seem so overwhelming.  I have many interests and many responsibilities, and prioritizing my goals helps me say “no” more than I would otherwise.  (I stink at “No.”)
This year I am going to choose a theme word.  (I know you can guess it.)

HOME.

I want to work on making our home a place of welcome:

  • for my husband and children
  • for our friends
  • for the stranger (I’m not sure quite what this will look like yet, but I have some ideas.)

I want our home to be a place of grace.  That means I have to set that tone in my words, in my attitude (and not just to others, but to myself, too.)  Home needs to be a place of safety, where we can be brave and fail and ask for forgiveness and then receive it and live it.  I want to fill our house with prayer and worship and to see the fruit of those practices pervading the rest of our lives.
IMG_3325
I want our home to be a place of learning.  Of course I have all sorts of ideas about what that will look like– especially the cozy reading spots with good lamps and no TVs.  But it also means we need to have places where new paint and shiny floors don’t make me want to say no to messy paints and cooking experimentation and digging holes in the back yard.

I want our home to be a place of health.  I think it will be easier to set new habits of walking and biking in lieu of driving if we do it from the beginning.  The kids became proficient bikers this fall, and I don’t want to lose that.  I have a chance to restock my pantry and fridge, and I hope the staples I put there (and the way I organize them) will promote healthy food choices.

IMG_3133 

Are you setting goals for the new year?  Add a link to your post (or add your word for the year) in the comments.  I’d love to hear.

4 thoughts on “2014 Aspirations

  1. I’m all in favor of theme words or images… I’ve used them the last two years, and in both cases my words or images have born deep truth in them. I don’t have one for this year yet… Love your pick, though.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

