I can’t do it all

I am very thin right now- not physically, but emotionally. Part of it is too many people in the house and too few minutes alone.

But a bigger part of my problem is too many yeses recently: yes to teaching at church, yes to working Friday night at the hospital, yes to a park get-together with friends, yes to playing piano, yes to a video project for a ministry I believe in… On top of school and dinner and Guatemala and laundry and doctoring. All good things, yes. But too many.

The writing and the exercise get squeezed out, and they are two of the “negotiables” that sustain me.
20131026-164524.jpg

Sunday SweetP and I were at the park. This other mom had boundless energy, playing tag and groundies and pushing the kids on swings, while all I could do was sit and soak up sunshine and cough.
I wish I could remember that I am not responsible for all good things. Just because a thing is good does not obligate me to be the one to do it.

One thought on “I can’t do it all

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

