Daybook: Late September

Out my window: things are drying out. Finally.

IMG_4211

In the kitchen: we’ve invited a neighbor over for dinner. It’s baked French toast and smoothies tonight. Lunch will be settlers beans in the crockpot. Hopefully the girls will eat a bit of it.

IMG_4203

On my mind: We have too many commitments this fall, not the least of which is Jonah’s math class. He’s learning so much this semester, the least of which is the math. How to sit through a lecture for an hour and fifteen minutes, how to take the bus to & from class, how to manage all the papers, how to read an assignment sheet, how to take someone else’s feedback, how to study for an exam– all are new to him in some way. What’s our role in all this? How can we best support his growth?

Additionally, our living at my parents’ home has caused all sorts of minor stresses. Well, they’re minor to me, but I see signs that some of them are big stressors to my little people. How do I support them through it all?

In the school room: SweetP’s mess. She and Moriah are sleeping in the room where we do most of our learning together. At home, I let her leave a mess in her room for days at a time, cleaning up only when the road from the door to the bed was completely obstructed. But I can’t take it here, and I’m requiring a lot more clean up from her.  It’s too much for her.  It still isn’t enough for me.

IMG_4157

We’re on week seven of school already, and we just read some great books I’ll post about soon.  Last week my dad took the boys on his Meals on Wheels route– what a great opportunity for them, though not as fun as the Three Generation Girls’ Tea Party. We don’t have anything that exciting planned this week.  Many of my Adventure Day locations have been washed out by the floods, and the driving has been a real drag.   Plans will have to change.
IMG_4306

I’m reading: Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron.  Educating the Whole Hearted Child by Clay & Sally Clarkson.  IMPAC’s Pregnancy, Childbirth, Postpartum and Newborn Care: A guide for essential practice.

IMG_4221
This is supposed to be a bridge over the stream, not through it.

On the needles: a baby gift (hooray!).  I love the wool– it’s super soft and a great variegated color.  Now I just have to knit it fast enough to be done before she outgrows it!

IMG_4283

Grateful for:  progress on the house, despite all the rain.

My mom and I were reflecting (marveling?) the other day at how easy it has been to live together.  We’re almost three months down, and except for the drive, issues have been short-lived.

Pope Francis.

Church.  The veil between heaven and earth is so thin in worship…

A day at the art museum last week.

Praying for: Mandy.  Syria.  How to  get more exercise.  Trust in God’s provision.  Discernment.  Jerusha.  Sam: his drive, his back.

2 thoughts on “Daybook: Late September

  1. Nice to get a glimpse into this chapter of life. Great perseverance in the midst of the unexpected (and somewhat, more expected) circumstances. Praying for y’all as you make the most of this season. Love the tea party pic!

    Like

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.