Beach Nature Study

We’re back from the beach.  One of my favorite days was right at the end, when we took the kids (and their cousins) on a walk at low tide.  I love seeing the world through their eyes.

We saw a huge jellyfish. (Better to see it on the sand than have it find you in the water!)
IMG_1370
We think these are crab poop.  Don’t they look just like chocolate sprinkles?
IMG_1378

And then there were all these horseshoe crabs. First one, then lots of pairs. “Oh they’re best friends!” Well, sort of…
IMG_1362

IMG_1358

So here’s the site we found to inform us about the life cycle of the horseshoe crab.

And I think a sandpiper?
IMG_1371

Have you been doing any nature study (formal or informal)? I’d love to see it.

For more summer nature study, check out Nature Study Monday at Fisher Academy International.

4 thoughts on “Beach Nature Study

  1. Oh I love this! No idea about those little crab poops? They look litke rabbit food pellets to me. lol.
    I have a post queued up about H’s Wildlife Journal later this week (on my other blog – htttp://freerangehome.wordpress.com ). Both of the boys requested to learn about the ocean this year.

  2. Very nice, Annie! I miss going to the beach and just looking at things. I grew up near the ocean and miss it dearly! Looks like you all had such a good time. I have been wanting to get my boys started with a regular nature study this summer, but, between all of the rain and heat we’ve been getting it has yet to happen. Thanks for sharing!

    • We have trouble with summer nature study, too– we make it outside, but between the heat and the bugs, I feel like it doesn’t often happy. We do better in the fall and spring.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

