What Makes a Home?

Our house closed.  It now belongs to someone else.  I thought I would feel weirder about that, but I don’t.  I feel overwhelming relief that this process of house-selling is over.  It exposed so many of my raw nerves– will they think it’s clean enough? What do you mean, they don’t like my paint?  They don’t like roses?– and had me on pins & needles for weeks.

We were very happy there, but it wasn’t the house that made us feel at home. It was the garden… it was small, but it was full of life.

IMG_0125

image1
2013-06-09

IMG_3698

2010.5

It was the mornings, when we woke up and came downstairs to bask in the sunshine.

IMG_3905

IMG_0281

It was the celebrations we lived there.

2010.11

IMG_7440
image73
It was the griefs we acknowledged and mourned there.

The applesauce we made there.

image2
It was the friends and family who shared our lives there.

image2
image61
image11

IMG_3511

It was the baby we brought home to that house.

image19

image17

It was the messes we made there.

image23

IMG_2976

The runs we ran there…

IMG_2373

And the snow forts we built there.

100_0859

IMG_8315

So here’s to a new, temporary home with my parents. To a new home in the winter. And here’s to the home we make together with the people God gives us to share our lives.

IMG_0434

6 thoughts on “What Makes a Home?

  1. Congratulations on closing on your home. I love the way you celebrated your home in this post. I am sure that you will miss it, but, all of the love and memories will always be with you all! Thanks, Annie, for sharing your home with us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Garden Update: May | Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

