January Snow Day

After the other day’s dismal failure, I needed a SNOW DAY.  We didn’t actually have snow at home.  So we had to go find some.
IMG_2790

I did bring SweetP’s coat with us, but she wore it for less than half an hour in the afternoon when the wind picked up.

IMG_2804

There she is in the center– her first day on skis.

IMG_2809

O is the one on the end eating the snow.  And yes, that’s my mitten obstructing the top of the photo.

I didn’t manage to get a photo of M on skis.  I kept trying to find her on the mountain, but she and her instructor were all over the place.

The lesson-coordinator asked me in the morning, “Wouldn’t your girls like to ski together?”  M has done lessons a few times and actually can navigate fairly well, and this was SweetP’s first time, so the answer was NO.  Turns out M was the only skier at her level in lessons that day, so she got [the world’s cheapest] private lesson.  No wonder they wanted to combine them.

Once the kids were set, I clipped into my own bindings (first time since knee surgery!) and headed up the mountain.

IMG_2799

I’ll admit to being daunted.  My last few times skiing (in 2009 & 2010) were very painful, between a non-working knee and a very weak core.  But three months of PT and a year and a half of running and cross-training paid off.

IMG_2796

Yes, it was that blue.

IMG_2797

No helmet-cam, so I can’t show you how great it felt.  But it was mid-week, and the slopes were wide open.  Although the snow wasn’t great, I didn’t need bells and whistles to enjoy the swoosh and the speed down the mountain.  And the quiet.  And the alone.

IMG_2798

2 thoughts on “January Snow Day

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

