New Years

What is it about taking down the Christmas decorations that turns my mind to fresh and new?  I guess it is a changing of seasons of sorts.  This year Sam did it without me (bless him!) and all I had to do was find the well-hidden Christmas tree drop-off.  Which I couldn’t do at first, so J and I left the tree tied on top of the car while we went to lunch.  Alas, no one helped themselves to our tree while we were eating.

IMG_2731

After we found the tree drop-off and managed to get the huge thing off the car, we saw a bald eagle on a telephone pole.  Actually, we had seen him ten minutes earlier (or maybe we saw two different bald eagles?) but I was going 45 and couldn’t really stop to admire him.  J didn’t even see the first one.  But the second one?  He seemed like a sign.  So we stopped and looked until J saw him.  Really saw him.

IMG_2734

IMG_2735
Anyway, my neighbor cleared out her basement, and my friend Renee cleared out her budget, and I am left wondering what I’m supposed to be clearing out to make room for the new.

IMG_2736

And then in prayer the answer comes: discontent. Covetousness.  An old word that simply means not being satisfied with the riches already lavished on me.  Not sure what that’s going to look like this year (or if I even want to embrace the call.)  Sometimes I’m so full of wanting more that there’s no room to enjoy what I have today.  So maybe I need to go with that for 2013.

Are you clearing out the old to make room for the new?

2 thoughts on “New Years

  1. Yes I am feeling the need to cleanse, clean and purge our lives of all the little things that clutter up our house, hearts and minds! We keep our Christmas things up until Epiphany so I am feeling like I need to clean, but, everything is still up 😉 I love those pictures. What an amazing sight that must have been. Happy New Year to you all.

  2. Everything BUT the tree is still up and will be still Sunday. And now the lviing room is also full of all the things we’re sorting through… the is the storm before the calm. =) Thanks, Ann-Marie.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

