Advent, Week 2

We’ve been continuing with school, and adding in a few Christmas/Advent read-alouds: Geraldine McCraughrean’s The Jesse Tree, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, A Christmas Carol (Jim Dale’s wonderful reading on CD), Christmas in the Barn, King of the Stable, and King Island Christmas. I’m still waiting for a few more I found at Better World Books.  (And thanks to Elizabeth Foss for the picture book recommendations.)

IMG_2697

Peppermint Bark happened. The children are very motivated to help when they get the crumbs at the end.  (I am including links to everything today, lest you are mislead to thinking I have any original ideas.)

2012-12-14

I picked up Dorothy Sayer’s Busman’s Holiday (the sequel to Gaudy Night, so you know it was dangerous for me). Somehow we managed still to get school done.

And our homeschool group carolled at nursing home near us. Joy to the World.  No more let sin or sorrow reign. Amen.

IMG_2700

Now I’m trying to figue out how to share with my children what happened in Connecticut.

I’ll leave you with my favorite prayer from the Book of Common Prayer.

Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who sleep. 
Tend the sick, Lord Christ; give rest to the weary, bless the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Advent, Week 2

  1. Thanks for posting your list of Christmas books! I’ve taken note of the titles I haven’t read with my children…or some that I haven’t read in a while. 🙂
    Homeschooture.com is a good site might like of books written by homeschoolers for homeschoolers. They also have a free book club and a list of good literature by grade.

  2. Thanks for posting your list of Christmas books! I’ve taken note of the titles I haven’t read with my children…or some that I haven’t read in a while.
    HomeschoolLiterature.com is a good site you may like of books written by homeschoolers for homeschoolers. They also have a free book club and a list of good literature by grade.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

