Applesauce Tutorial

It’s November… applesauce time.  Evie asked me how I make my applesauce.  It’s sort of a moving target, but here is this year’s version.

IMG_0523

I like to use a combination of apples. This year, Fujis and Braeburns were in season, so I used a box of each. (Two 20 lb boxes yielded 2 deep dish pies, 6 small tarts and 10 quarts of apple sauce.)

IMG_0514
I love the red pot and my friend Jerusha’s red apple painting together.

Start by washing your apples. Put your jars in the dishwasher, or wash them in hot, soapy water and keep them in hot water in the sink. I have tried so many nifty apple peeler-corer-slicers and am always disappointed. This year I peeled them by hand and then let the kids use the apple cutter to core them.

IMG_0515

I keep the slices in water until I have a bowlful just so they don’t turn brown. Sprinkling them with FruitFresh will do the same thing for a higher price. When you have one big bowlful, add 1 inch of water to your pot and add the apples. Then turn on high and cover. Keep an eye on it and stir it frequently so it doesn’t burn. Then you can start on the second pot of apples.

IMG_0516

Once they’re boiling, they will cook down fairly quickly. Keep stirring, uncovered now, and keep an eye on them. When I can mush them with the back of a spoon, I put them through my food mill (seen below).

IMG_0517

Before I start putting them through the food mill, I boil my (never before used) lids and (previously used many time) bands in boiling water. They’re in the smaller pot in the back. Also, notice by wide-mouthed funnel (red, to the right). This has become my favorite canning tool, the one I would replace immediately if it disappeared. It allows me to fill my jars without burning my hands or making a big mess. Love it.

IMG_0519

Once I have a whole pot of mushed apples, I pull my hot jars out of the dishwasher to fill them. I leave a centimeter of room, put on the lid and tighten it just till it’s fast. Then I invert the jar. Please don’t take my word for your food’s safety: follow the Ball manual or the guidelines in Putting Food By. But I have only ever had one bad batch, and I know it was because I didn’t keep the apples boiling while I waited to fill my jars. And I knew it right away because the lids popped off. No one died, but botulism is a serious disease, so don’t take chances.

IMG_0518

After 5 minutes (or when I remember) I turn my jars right side up. Usually the lids “pop” down right away, much quicker than my jam does. I leave them on the counter for a day (or until I’m tired of looking at them). And then I try to keep my kids from eating all my applesauce before I’ve actually put them away.

IMG_0520

5 thoughts on “Applesauce Tutorial

  1. REALLY?! I’ve always frozen applesauce, because I didn’t know that you didn’t have to actually use the canner. As long as the sauce is boiling when you put it in, the jars seal? AMAZING. Now I wish I had lids….. I have applesauce on the docket for today and tomorrow…. and now I want to try your method!

    • As I said, in years (maybe 8-10 years?) I’ve only ever had one batch that didn’t seal. I think applesauce– when it’s just apples, no other stuff– is extremely acidic. (That may be why I always warn the parents of patients to watch out for applesauce when their diapered children are having diarrhea… aheam, ’nuff said.) And acid helps a safe seal, right?

    • Addendum: Stacy, Three of this year’s jars spoiled– so from now on, I’m going to process my applesauce. I hope I didn’t ruin too much of yours with my overconfidence!

  2. Oh. And my funnel is my favorite thing, too. I can’t believe I canned for so many years without it! I did a batch of applesauce today- to freeze (because I couldn’t find my bands/lids– if I have any lids) but I aim to try your method with another batch, soon! (I have one bag of one variety of apples and two whole boxes of another variety– all for applesauce.)

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

