Daybook: Mid-August 2012

Wow!  How did it get to be the middle of August already?  We start school on Monday, and I’m still organizing.

Organizing: I can’t really taking the credit for this.  Sam has great organizational skills.  Last week he did the kids’ bedrooms (oy!) and last night he tackled the laundry room, which really has been a repository for… well, anything.  Wish I’d taken before pictures so you could see, but…
IMG_0255

IMG_0254

Those cute brightly colored bins are last year’s schoolwork bins, but they were too small, really. They’re almost perfect for holding candles and batteries and random supplies that have been stacked atop each other until they fall out with a huge clunk onto the dryer.

In the kitchen: vegetables.  Last night I roasted them with a little oil and garlic powder.  (Thanks, Renee!)
IMG_0253

The kids weren’t very excited about anything but the potatoes. How can you not love purple potatoes you got to dig out of the ground?

In the garden: a few flowers. Lots of veges– this year I have some really pretty eggplants.
IMG_0252
And I think the one below is an amaryllis I planted one year after Christmas. There were three blooms on consecutive days. They didn’t last long, but my, they took my breath away.
IMG_0251

Grateful:

  • an agent’s interest in my book.  And my critique partner had two requests for pages– awesome!
  • a clean porch
  • my current cross-training regimen with my friend (we’re doing Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred.  Today is day 9.)
  • a friends’ adoption being FINAL.  Hooray!
  • the balance beam my dad built for the kids. (You can see they already raised it off the ground.)

IMG_0245

In my prayers: details for my trip to Thailand.  Mandy.  The Simons.  Burma.

 

IMG_0241

Thinking about: school.  The school room is a mess, but I have all day, right?  This year I feel like I have way more on my plate in terms of planning.  More on that later.
IMG_0249

4 thoughts on “Daybook: Mid-August 2012

  1. thats my boy Sam!!!!!..Could use you here to help me…trying to clean out stuff.Love the pictures of the girls on the the balance beam love judy

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

