A Fly on the Wall

Have you ever wanted to be a fly on the wall in some else’s home school?  I have, and this week I had that chance.
IMG_1190
We had a visit from some home schooling friends, but we both did “light school” all week.  And as we went about our morning, doing math and practicing piano, I had the chance to eavesdrop on their reading lessons. And geography.
IMG_1189
We did some lessons on China and the Chinese New Year together.  She and the children made fortune cookies (I know, I know, they’re not Chinese– but good fortune IS a very Chinese idea) and potstickers and lo mein.  We read books about China.  Several Lego experts built the Great Wall.  (Not out of rice flour.)  We hiked together.
IMG_1192
Sometimes seeing life in action is better than reading or hearing about it… and this week was like that.

4 thoughts on “A Fly on the Wall

  1. How cool is that? I’ve always just declared a holiday when we visit, and I get kind of self conscious teaching in front of other adults. Maybe I think of teaching as working out of a text book on the subjects I’m shaky on, though. I have no trouble sharing what I know and talking about it with anybody anywhere, including my kids.

    So, it’s cool you could share that part of your life with another family. What a gift friendship is.

  2. Oh my word, rice flour is So Awful! The great wall of china went on for almost 24 hours including regular clay, left over rice flour pancakes and left over rice flour dough that needed more regular flour to be a success. The entire kitchen was covered in a fine fine layer of white flour and the floor was so slippery that no one could walk through without falling.There was no way to achieve proportion or little towers or anything, as far as I could see. I finally left the house to get away from it and let them just finish the wall. Let it never be said that I can’t be flexible for a celebration of culture and ethnicity!

  3. Hi Annie, great to see you had a good time with the westervelts. They are a wonderful family and the kids are so well behaved. They have been so supportive of Mandy, even sleeping over. Tom has come such a long way since he lived with us…its nice to see that happen. I consider him one of “my kids” as I do everyone that has lived with me. I love reading your blog and keeping up with everyones activities. Love to all Mom D

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

