Light

“The people walking in darkness have seen a great light.  On those walking in the land of the shadow of death, a light has dawned.”  Isaiah 9:2

IMG_7875

December is a month of startling shadows and brightness.

IMG_7879

That I am preparing dinner in the dark always surprises me.  We eat in candlelight, or the semi-darkness of a single lamp.

IMG_7874
The mornings are dark as I sneak downstairs, hoping the darkness will help them to sleep an extra half-hour.
IMG_7881

Our street is so bright with twinkling Christmas lights, my neighbor says you can see it from space.
IMG_6251

The house, with its new paint, shows off the shadows and slanting beams of sun in a new way.

And yet we are a people walking in the land of the shadow of death.  A friend has a new, debilitating illness and wonders if she has days or weeks until the next attack that will cripple her.  My dear sister-in-law struggles with new losses from a chronic disease.  A friend faces her first Christmas without her husband of forty-six years.  Almost 2 years after the earthquake, half a million people in Haiti still live in camps without running water or sanitation. My friend’s four year-old is hospitalized again for more chemo.

IMG_1873

The joy offered by specials at the jewelry store and toy store and yes, even the bookstore, is as counterfeit as those twinkling Christmas lights and santas and ho-ho-hos.

Oh, I pray to see the Light.  Not just a light, but a Great Light.  I catch glimpses, and then the busy-ness of my day pulls my eyes away… but the light of December– of Advent– is so startling I see it again.  And I look again.

Come, Lord Jesus.

7 thoughts on “Light

  1. Thank you, Annie for reflecting deeply on Christmas and our struggle to be in the dark and still hope and trust that the light has come and will come. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Prayers for your suffering friends and family. Peace and blessings!

  2. We had a parquet-top table. I always found it so pretty, as I do your table. The photos are beautiful and the reminder of the darkness we are still in is sobering. Thanks, Annie, for contributing to the Nativity Carnival.

  3. Pingback: Grateful, January 2012 « Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

