Advent Books

We have a few books that I put away every January and don’t pull out until Advent.  In case you haven’t met these, my book-friends, I’d like to introduce you:

The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey by  Susan Wojciechowski

The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever CD

How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr Seuss

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

And a new favorite, discovered last year: Miracle and Other Christmas Stories by Connie Willis (this one is for the adults)

Miracle and Other Christmas Stories

What are your favorites that I may not know?

5 thoughts on “Advent Books

  1. Silver Packages by Cynthia Rylant
    This makes me cry every year. My children now turn and watch me when I get to “the page” that does it.

    Emma’s Christmas by Irene Trivas
    A funny take on the 12 days of Christmas. Great illustrations.

  2. Have you read “24 Days Before Christmas” by Madeleine L’Engle? In it, the family does a different thing every day of Advent, in order to get ready for Christmas. It’s a very sweet story, and aimed at younger kids than the rest of her Austin family series.

  3. We just finished The Best Christmas Pageant Ever. You know what story I really really hate? That stupid “Gift of the Magi” one. Talk about an exercise in futility. Maybe we’ll read it anyway just so I can bag on it.

  4. Pingback: Ready, Set, Advent! « Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

