The Days are Long but the Years are Short

“The days are long, but the years are short.”  As a mother I have lived by this motto, often repeating it to myself ad nauseam between, say, four-thirty and six p.m.

IMG_7759

But recently I have had the distinct feeling that the days are getting shorter, too.  (And no, I’m not talking about the impending solstice.)

 
IMG_7751
 

We are running out of time in our days.  It’s lunchtime before we’ve finished building the zoo.  Or we still have math left to do after lunch.  Or it’s time for swim team, but we haven’t all practiced piano.

It might be inefficiency, but it could be instead that The Days are Just Packed: A Calvin and Hobbes Collection

I have so much in my back pocket that we aren’t getting to– good books (always more books!), a sewing curriculum, crocheting, cooking, geography, another composer– but I have to remind myself that what we ARE doing is a feast.  A wonderful, rich feast.

Perhaps, instead of adding more to the table I need to “schedule” in a little more time to digest it.

IMG_7726

2 thoughts on “The Days are Long but the Years are Short

  1. Have you heard Brook Fraser’s song “Here’s to You”? the refrain is “Life is short as the days are long”, and it has other great lines, like, “Cheers to the sleepers we’ll see again/Good company, in memorium” and “cheers to the losses that grew us up, killed our pride, and filled our cup”. I think you’d like it.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

