Sewing with the Children

I’ve wanted to teach my kids to sew for a long time.  A really long time.  We’ve had our forays into sewing-land, but they usually come with tears and frustration.

Stitch by Stitch: Learning to Sew, One Project at a Time [Book]

This summer I bought the book Stitch by Stitch by Deborah Moebes and had a vision to work through it with the children… and it has sat in the sewing room without being opened.  Until last week.

For December, I’ve scheduled school to be very light.  We have doctor’s appointments and a play we’re seeing.  I wanted to leave time for gift-making.  Sewing seemed to fit right into this plan.  So last week I pulled out the sewing machine.

Ooo la la!  Everyone was very excited.  And for the first time, no one cried while we were sewing!

2011.12

We worked on the first two projects in the book (a stitch sampler just to acquaint us with the machine; and a drawing in stitches) and everyone learned a lot.  A few burns were had on the iron, but it didn’t stop anyone from wanting to continue.  SweetP happily cuts and pins fabric and takes her turn on the sewing machine (with me controlling the pedal).  We had a few broken needles, and not everything turned out the way we wanted, but it was so successful everyone keeps asking when we can sew again.

I think the secret is that I’m not working on a project of my own– it’s all them.  Eventually, perhaps, we’ll all be able to sew simultaneously, but for now I’m really happy with how it’s working.

Is your family getting its craft on?

IMG_1050
 

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

