Ten!

Last week J turned ten. 

 We had all sorts of birthday fun– a shark crown (for my shark-loving boy), ham-and-cheese omelets and homemade bread for breakfast, cupcakes,

a party with the obligatory Epic Water Balloon Battle,

a trip to the aquarium with Papa & Grandma, birthday money (“She sent me my age squared!”) from Grandma Judy, books about sharks, a homemade game from his brother O…

At some point during the day, I retell him the story of his birth, which brings back to me all the anticipation I felt, the eagerness I had that he would arrive before our dear friends left for Russia (he didn’t), and the certainty I felt when he was at last on top of my belly, that he was a gift from God, to us.

Over ten years, he has grown to be — an amazing person full of contagious enthusiasm, piety, and humor.  I am so blessed to know him today, and I look forward to seeing the person he will become.

2 thoughts on “Ten!

  1. Ok, so I’m tired of not being able to comment. So I had to create a blog too. Well, I didn’t HAVE to, but it was fun. I’m a homeschool blogger!! Next stop – tap dancing! 🙂

    Oh yea, my comment was: I do not remember seeing shark cupcakes. That is all.

  2. What a great celebration! Happy Birthday J, someday I want to meet you!

    You know, we have a lovely aquarium in Boston with a 3 story coral reef tank and a few hand fed sharks that eat some of the other fish on occasion anyway…

    The family reunion is going to be in Ontario, not Colorado this year though, so I won’t be coming West.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

