New Year's Thoughts, 2010

Happy New Year!

I love new.  Not necessarily new things, but a chance for renewal.  New choices.  New life.  New habits.  New mercies, sufficient for today’s worries.

I don’t always make New Year’s resolutions– but I like to reevaluate at the new year (and in the late summer, before the new school year starts) to see where I am. 

Where am I?

I am very happy to be a homeschooling mom. 

But the pattern of my days right now is non-stop.  One Sunday before Christmas, three people asked me if SweetP was always "like this."  Meaning all over the place.   The answer is yes. 

My two year-old daughter is like this (they were all like this at this age.)  She is constantly climbing every piece of furniture.  Multiple times a day she falls off things, bonks her head, cries for ten seconds, and climbs back up.  She is up and down the stairs, in the cabinets, pulling chairs over so she can get on the counter or flip switches.  And I am exhausted.  I fall into bed every night without having accomplished half the things on my list.  I am behind on the laundry, we keep running out of our favorite foods, and every time I sit down for a second, someone is asking me for something else.

So I am going to try to ramp down my expectations for what we can do in a day, and try to do more outings, more field trips, more walks.

Where is my writing?

I had a wonderful interaction with an agent in the fall.  She read my full manuscript and gave me some excellent, specific feedback, even though she didn’t want to represent me.  So I am encouraged and ready to try a new tack. 

What about my job?

God told me to stop asking for permission to quit.  (I’ve been asking this for awhile, to no avail.)  God told me to start asking to have joy in my job, and the ability to be peaceful there.  So I’m trying to be faithful in praying those prayers.

What about you?  Do you have resolutions?  A 101 in 1001?  Where are you this new year?

2 thoughts on “New Year's Thoughts, 2010

  1. Okay, your "and the new school year, and . . ." cracked me up. I do that too! Every chance I get, I like to look at my life and figure out what's working and what isn't . . . constant tweaking. I love it, because it actually WORKS.

    I'm excited that you're continuing on with your writing and got good feedback from an agent. And I'm amazed that you're doing so much all at once . . . I'm with you on the "tired with toddlers" stage, and hope that you do find the grace to find joy in your job. What comes to mind is something one of my professors told me once: "God always gives what He demands." Hope that proves true for you, dear one.

  2. Ohhh Sweet P she is a girl on the go! You Amaze me and how you are so talented! I'm excited for you and your writing! And cnt wait to read bout your adventures 🙂
    love you!
    Mandy

    my 2010 expecatations are adjusting to a " life", embracing each moment and taking things one day at a time while being filled with HOPE & being at peace.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

