Homemade Backpacks

Several months ago, I had the idea to make my children backpacks.  Cloth ones that they could take to the beach, or the pool… to carry their OWN stuff.  When I was three and we went to live in Egypt for the year, my parents’ good friend made drawstring bags for my brother and me, and we loved them.  So I had that vision in my head.

I bought the fabric from Alewives Fabrics.  It’s cotton, and so fun.  The bags are lined with white cotton, and the straps are four layers because of folding, and very reinforced.  I made what were essentially two pillowcases and put one inside the other so the seams were between. The lining was two inches taller than the outside, and then I double folded it to make a casing and ran a ribbon through it.  The "clasp" is three buttons– it works pretty well.

Best of all, everyone is carrying their own stuff to the pool.  Hooray.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Backpacks

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

