Planning my Pantry

Reading Barbara Kingsolver’s book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, I was blown away by the fact that she kept track of everything her family bought/cooked/ate for a year so that she could plan what they needed to plant for their year of eating home-grown/locally. 

I’m not quite that ambitious, and I’m not sure we’ll ever be free of boxes of Mac&Cheese.  But I was struck by how useful it would be to know how much we ate so that I could plan for next summer’s canning and freezing.  (That said, every year we eat more than the year before, so I may never catch up!)

This is my handy-dandy chart, which hangs inside a cupboard next to a pen.  Every time I open a jar of peaches or applesauce (or anything else) I mark it off.  This summer, I should have a much better idea of what to shoot for in terms of "putting up." 

The flaw in this plan was all the food we had to dump when the freezer died… but life is a work in progress, no?

8 thoughts on “Planning my Pantry

  1. Oh you are SO smart. How come I've never thought of this? (Couldn't you have posted about this when you STARTED your list?!) ~smile~

    Love this idea!
    ~Stacy

  2. What a great idea-so simple really! Are these all things you've canned yourself or do you keep track of everything?

    This will be our first time trying to can for a whole year and I'm not sure where to begin.I'd love to hear more about it.

  3. thanks for sharing this idea with me! I have canned in the past and would REALLY like to do it again. But I am always daunted by figuring out how much to do to make it actually worthwhile, you know? This is a fantastic idea! I'm definitely going to start a list and maybe I'll actually do some canning!

  4. Yes, this is all stuff I canned. I had thought originally to mark what I made, but then it seemed too hard that way. I have room to add when I bought in each category, but I haven't bought any of these.

  5. Way to go on this! I need to figure somthing like this out too. I'm still feeling my way through canning. I'm signed up for a class next month, which should help. Last year, all I managed to do were a few jars of pickles. 🙂

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

