Book group: Waiting for Snow in Havana

I know, I posted a review of this book in the spring, when I had just read it and was overcome with its vision and beauty.  I chose it for our book group this month, and we met to discuss it. 

We had such a good discussion—about the father’s character, the history involved, God’s faithfulness, the literary brilliance…

I am so grateful for my book club.  It’s what Charlotte Mason referred to as Mother Culture, and she strongly recommended we as mothers and teachers partake in Mother Culture.  Every time we get near to book club and I’m cramming to finish, I think, "I don’t have time for this."  And after we meet, I realize that unless I’m feeding my own mind on a rich diet, I won’t be much of an inspiration to my children.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

