What I Learned on the First Day of School

1) Taking the summer off means that we aren’t in the school groove when we start again.

2) Two pages of subtraction is too much for O.

3) O was learning blends (phonics) all summer, even without working on it consciously.

4) J loves "school."

5) M loves dressing her stuffed bear in her old baby clothes.

6) I really, really, really have to get the copying done in advance of the school day.

7) J and O both love writing creatively.

My husband was home so that I could work in the clinic, but I don’t start till late morning, so we all sat together to have school until I left.  I was a little self-conscious having him there with us, but it was good to be together.  We did our Bible and Spanish memory, read the 10 commandments (J’s choice), started Abraham Lincoln’s World by Genevieve Foster, and picked up where we left off in Singapore math and Explode the Code.  J did the first lesson in Simply Grammar and a page of free writing.

I left my husband to supervise piano practice, begin David MacAuley’s The New Way Things Work, do some experiments with inclined planes, and supervise Latin review.  They may also repair the doorbell and pick up the 35 library books that are waiting for us.

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

