Book Review: The Rosie Project and Bellwether

What a blast! The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion captured me from page one. The protagonist’s voice is distinctive and thoroughly consistent with his personality. Don, a professor of genetics, is looking for a wife. He has a bad first date, so he designs a pre-date questionnaire designed to eliminate all potential conflicts. Then, he meets Rosie, who eliminates herself from contention as a possible life partner by Question #1. Their friendship grows slowly through Rosie’s own project, the Father Project.

While Rosie and Don are the focus of the story, I loved that the secondary characters grew and changed. In the end, this was a satisfying, funny novel that I couldn’t put down.

If you like The Rosie Project, don’t miss Connie Willis’s Bellwether. Bellwether shares the quirky humor and science of The Rosie Project. Of course, Bellwether has the added bonus of taking place in my hometown. Willis pokes fun at everything from the intelligence of sheep and scientific grants to food fads. I liked this book so much I read it to my friend on a road trip for 8 hours. (Last book I did that with: The Princess Bride.)

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Rosie Project and Bellwether

  1. Pingback: Twitterature: April 2014 | Learning As We Go

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

