Daybook: End of March

Out my window: March goes out like a lamb.  They’re digging holes for our trees right now.  In the front: a maple (for Sam) and 2 crabapples (for me).  In the back: a peach and a pear (for me).  Hmmm… looks like I’m getting the better end of the deal here.
IMG_5783

 

In the kitchen:  This week I’m trying to eek out the last few stews before the weather changes for good and all we want is salad.  Also, I’m making lots of little muffins and banana bread for our housewarming party. (If you’re in town, it’s Saturday from 4-6.  Please drop by!) It’s rather reminiscent of the summer before our wedding when I baked 200 mini loaves of bread.  Anybody remember that?

In the schoolroom: We’re analyzing our data from our experiments.  We’ll take a hike by the lake and look for birds.  And we’re going to have to read something deep and profound, hopefully that describes the deep spiritual dangers of blowing up your sister’s minecraft condominium complex.

IMG_5758

What I’m hearing: “These Boots Are Made for Walking.”  Over and over and over, while SweetP is practicing her tap dance for the spring recital.  We listened to 14 versions on iTunes before I finally bought the Loretta Lynn version, and it’s not “the right” one.  She kept saying, “Not this one… it has a rattling in it.”  Any ideas which version I should have bought?
IMG_5756
On my bookshelf: I’m finishing The Merchant of Venice.  Jonah already finished it and has 5 short essays to write on it this week.  I’m working my way back through Elwsyth Thane’s Williamsburg series and just started Ever After, which takes place in the Spanish-American war.

Around the house: We are hanging a few more pictures and (hopefully) some curtain rods [By we, of course I mean Sam.].  Also, I really, really, really have to get the sewing space organized.  But (triumph!) I hung the under-the-cupboard lights at the computer desk in the kitchen, so now that’s a cozy little space to work.

On my mind: “The quality of mercy is not strain’d.”  –William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice, Act IV, Scene 1.  And, “People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. 14 When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 15 Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” 16 And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.” Mark 10: 13-16. 

IMG_5849

Grateful: for a good, good vacation.  This Sunday’s children’s church. Sam. Tea with my friend Eva a few weeks back- I am so grateful for the friends God has given me.

IMG_5796

Praying for: Jerusha as she travels and processes this week. Our friends doing ministry in the Philippines. Mandy. Pam.

IMG_5844

 

2 thoughts on “Daybook: End of March

  1. Hi Love the family picture and Phoebe skiing by herself. your house looks great take life easy it goes past so fast. there is another box of clothes coming for the girls and money for the boys. love you all

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

