Daybook: Early October

Out my window: a riot of color.  Blue sky, red, yellow and green leaves.  I love autumn.

IMG_5862

In the kitchen:  This week we’re having beef and mushrooms, Chicken Marbella, beef and vegetable chili, chicken pot pie, and pizza. And homemade bread.  Jonah asks to make cookies every other day… I think he’s fattening me up for Thanksgiving.  Very sinister.

IMG_4372

On my mind: the difficult balance between doing and being. My friend Gina sent me this article on the conflict between a career and motherhood, and it has been rattling around in my head all week.

IMG_4391

In the school room: autumn tree study, Guatemala, protozoa, The Penderwicks, James Herriott stories and Jean Fritz’s The Great Little Madison.

I’m reading: Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron.  Educating the Whole Hearted Child by Clay & Sally Clarkson.  IMPAC’s Pregnancy, Childbirth, Postpartum and Newborn Care: A guide for essential practice.  And Gaudy Night, for the between-times, when I can’t take one more thing I have to focus on.

Grateful for: my niece’s safe arrival.  Two dinners with dear friends… they came at just the right time. Yesterday’s worship. Last week’s overnight visit with a dear friend who gets me.  That Sam is home. He had a wonderful trip, but… I am really, really glad that he is home.

IMG_4373
No family resemblance here!

Praying for: Mandy.  Jerusha.  Syria.  Our government.  (Apparently they need a lot more prayer than they’re getting.)

Rest. (We’re tired around here.)

IMG_4424

All the people still displaced or affected by the flood.  Patience.  Courage to be real.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jerusha Neal
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 08:04:06

    I wish my kids liked mushrooms more. Happy Monday. Enjoy that beef stew.

    Reply

I love reading your comments! Thanks for visiting.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

